Glossybox First look: May 2014 (Sweden)

Beauty

After seeing a lot written about Glossybox by bloggers and magazines alike, I thought I would give the monthly beauty box a try.

At 139Kr a month I thought it would be a nice thing to do; I spend that much on coffee a week, so I’m cutting down on takeaway coffee!

This is the Glossybox from Sweden, I understand there are differences between each country!

IMG_1269

The box comes nicely packaged with a little magazine, lots of discount vouchers and a little card explaining the products and how much they are worth.

IMG_1274

Each box contains 5 different products (although this one contains 6! There are two of the same product in two different colours).

IMG_1278

Here are the products contained in this month’s Glossybox (from left to right):

1. BE YOUR MOOD, Colour Boost – Two small bottles of hair mask to help boost the colour of your dyed hair. It comes with chocolate-brown and silver blonde. The idea is that you keep one and you give a friend an other. My hair is neither of these colours, but somewhere in between, so it will be interesting to try them out. (full size 200ml, 59Kr)

2. HAWAIIAN TROPIC, Silk Hydration Lotion, SPF 15 – This is a really tasty smelling mini bottle of body lotion that has a low SPF. It smells good, very fruity and summery, and I think the little bottle will come in handy if I’m travelling or out and about. The SPF is a little low for my liking though. (full size 180ml, 119Kr)

3. FLORMAR, Long Wearing Lipgloss – This is apparently a best-selling lipgloss, I’ve never heard of the brand though. I’m not a huge fan of really glossy lipglosses, and this appears to be a hight-gloss one. But the colour is bright enough and summery, so I will give it a try! (value, 79kr)

4. PANOS EMPORIO, Deospray ‘Coco Sun’ – This spray smells so good. It is fresh with coconuts and it reminds me of summer holidays. It comes in a perfect travel size too! (full size 50ml, 149Kr)

5. HUMBLE BRUSH, Bambu-tandborste- This is really sad, but I think this is my fave product from the box so far! The brush itself looks really trendy and stylish, made from bamboo with purple bamboo bristles. I also like that the company gives a toothbrush to people who need them throughout the world (dental hygiene is important for all, right?!) and the bamboo is ethically sourced, AND it is biodegradable, unlike your average toothbrush. I’m not sure if I would normally buy this type of toothbrush as it is a little pricey (yeah, I normally buy the cheapest brush I can find!!) but I might be converted! (value 34kr)

 

Overall first thoughts:

I am really happy overall. I received products that I would have never bought myself, but I would use ( I was worried I would get a load of weird products like chin firming cream or something).

I am really pleased too that the company has taken into account that summer is (nearly) here and that customers would probably like to have summery products.

I also feel that I have got my money’s worth.

Over the next few days I will do a post giving short reviews of each of the products, so keep an eye out!

Love, Emma

Leave a comment